Twelve Days Out

I am getting ready to go abroad!! My plane takes off in twelve days. It is crazy to think that I will be in such a different place so soon. Packing has been very strange. I am bringing a minimal amount of clothing and personal items for five months (eek), only a couple of pairs of pants and a handful of skirts, dresses and shirts. My suitcase seems like it has more medication than clothing in it, but I am very okay with that. Getting sick while on my trip is the last thing I want to do.

Everything still feels so unreal to me at this point. Even with such a short time left in the US before I leave, I cannot really imagine what it will be like in Kigali. It will be interesting to look back at this post in a couple of months time and remember what it felt like to dream about being in East Africa. A little part of me still cannot believe that this semester abroad is finally happening. I have been thinking about this since my first semester at Southwestern in the fall of 2009. Everything has just fallen into place so perfectly and I am beyond thankful.

Flying is going to be so exciting, I love airplanes. Traveling such a great distance in such a short amount of time is intriguing to me. I like to think that I am traveling through time in a way. Of course I am only accomplishing this by crossing through time zones but the idea of time travel clearly beats that of entering and exiting time zones. Also, I love the fact that I will be leaving a relatively chilly and wet Georgetown Winter and going to a Rwandan Summer! According to weather.com, highs in Kigali are around 80 degrees for the rest of 2011, something I am going to undoubtedly enjoy more than the 50s and 60s of Georgetown. I love that I get to skip out on the rest of Winter this year, it is definitely an added bonus to everything I am already so excited about!

For everyone that contributed to my trip (in any way), I thank you so much! You are giving me the opportunity of a lifetime that I am so excited about. This list is extremely long but includes my family, bosses, advisors, professors, friends, program directors, doctors, etc. I am sure I forgot plenty of people but it would take quite a while to list everyone that I would like to thank. Anyways, y’all have helped make my dreams come true and that means the world to me 🙂

I apologize that this post is not that interesting but I still have a week and a half until my life becomes considerably more adventurous and exciting! Well, I guess this is it for my first post. Until next time….which may or may not be posted from American soil…

Categories: From Texas | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Twelve Days Out

  1. mom

    Good thing you were in cross country or you may not have run fast enough to make your flight. How many parrots were squaking outside your window? I love you. Over and out, love Christian. P. S. I hope you’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

